Monday, October 18, 2010

Conference preseason ballot

The preseason WAC teams and all-conference picks are going to be announced on Tuesday morning. Here is how I voted in both men's and women's.

1. New Mexico State (I picked NMSU last year because they were more athletic than Utah State despite more returners at Utah State. I'm picking NMSU this year because they are more athletic than Utah State despite more returning starters than Utah State)

2. Utah State (I picked them fifth last year. Was way off. They are still solid with Wesley and Bendall inside)
3. Boise State (The Broncos have some nice pieces if they respond to a new coach and other guys fill in.)
4. Nevada (I don't know how they replace Babbitt and Johnson, but the Wolf Pack have always been a competitive WAC team and couldn't see them finish lower than fourth.)
5. San Jose State (George Nessman 51-103 in five years. He does have the best player in the WAC and a good point guard)
6. Fresno State
7. Louisiana Tech
8. Idaho
9. Hawaii

Player of the Year — Adrian Oliver, San Jose State
Newcomer of the Year — Malik Story, Nevada
All WAC — Wendell McKines, NMSU
Troy Gillenwater, NMSU
Tai Wesley, Utah State
Greg Smith, Fresno State

1. Fresno State
2. Louisiana Tech
3. Nevada
4. Idaho
6. Boise State
7. Hawaii
8. Utah State
9. San Jose State

Player of the Year — Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State
All-WAC — Madison Spence, NMSU
Tahnee Robinson, Nevada
Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech
Hayley Munro, Fresno State

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thanks for posting your picks. I like your line about picking NMSU over USU